Graduate Student Scholarships


Department of Natural Resource Ecology & Management Graduate Scholarship Application

For Current ISU NREM Graduate Students

Open to any ISU Graduate Students with NREM listed as their Home Department. Major may be in Animal Ecology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science, Fisheries Biology, Forestry, Sustainable Agriculture, Wildlife Biology, Wildlife Ecology, etc. Apply through the CALS Graduate Scholarship Applications webpage.

Application Deadline:  February 15

Questions?  Please contact Dr. Lisa Schulte Moore in 142 Science II.


C.E. Farnsworth Memorial Fund

Applicant must be a graduate student in NREM who has demonstrated financial need. Preference will be given to students with outstanding scholarship and showing promise of completing degree.

Evered Ihrig Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is open to all Forestry Undergraduate and Graduate Students. Preference will be given to students graduating from high schools in Johnson County, IA or those contiguous thereto, including: Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Louisa, Linn, Muscatine, and Washington Counties or persons having some degree of family relationship to the late Charles Leslie Ihrig or Wenona Ihrig. Selection is based on financial need as determined by the Financial Aid Office at ISU.

INHF J. N. "Ding" Darling Scholarship

This scholarship is open to all NREM students. Applicant must show exemplary conservation communication and scholarly achievement. Examples of your work in this area should be described in your application or included as supporting material.

INHF J. N. "Ding" Darling Scholarship, Sherry Fisher Award

Awarded to the outstanding J. N. "Ding" Darling, INHF Scholarship applicant. Examples of your work in this area should be described in your application or included as supporting material.

Kenneth Carlander Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Applicant must be an Animal Ecology graduate student enrolled in the Fisheries Biology program and have a cumulative minimum G.P.A. of 3.5. Preference will be given to those applicants who have publications in-press or have been published in a professional journal. Preference will also be given to those who have previous employment experience in Wildlife / Fisheries Biology and is a member of the American Fisheries Association. This scholarship is renewable.

LaVon Tostenson Award

Applicant must be currently conducting graduate research in Fisheries, Wildlife Conservation, Ecology, or Management. Preference given to students whose research is oriented toward game species of fish, birds or mammals and/or their habitat.